Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of the Research Triangle Environmental Health Collaborative (The Collaborative) brings together the outstanding depth and breadth of environmental health expertise in academia, government institutions, non-profit foundations, and private businesses in the area. Under the leadership of co-chairs Leah Devlin and William Ross, it works to further enhance the Research Triangle as the epicenter of contemporary thinking about environmental health and plans a yearly Environmental Health Summit that focuses on emerging issues and concerns.

Leah Devlin, DDS
Co-Chair, The Collaborative
UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health

William Ross, JD
Co-Chair, The Collaborative
Brooks Pierce, Of Counsel; US EPA National Advisory Council for Environmental Policy and Technology

Martin Armes, Executive Director

David Brown, MPH, Administrator

Richard Cohn, Ph.D.
Social & Scientific Systems, Inc.

Linda Culpepper
North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality

John Hardin, Ph.D.
NC Department of Commerce, NC Board of Science, Technology & Innovation

Gerald LeBlanc, Ph.D.
North Carolina State University, Department of Environmental & Molecular Toxicology

Jackie MacDonald Gibson, Ph.D
UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health, Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Terrence Pierson, Ph.D.
RTI International

Larry Reed
Michael D Baker Inc.

Mina Shehee
North Carolina Division of Public Health

Pamela Schwingl
Integrated Laboratory Systems

Steve Wiley


Jennifer Orme-Zavaleta, Ph.D
US Environmental Protection Agency

Kimberly Thigpen Tart, JD
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

Hal Zenick, Ph.D.
US Environmental Protection Agency—RETIRED


Norman L. Christensen, Ph.D.
Founding Dean of Duke University’s Nicholas School of Environmental Sciences and Policy

Donald A. Holzworth, MS
Futures Group International

James B. Hunt, Jr.
Former Governor of North Carolina

Kenneth Olden, Ph.D., Sc.D.
Environmental Protection Agency/Former Director of the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

William L. Roper, MD, MPH
Dean of the School of Medicine and CEO of UNC Health Care