2012 Schedule

NC Biotech Center, Research Triangle Park, NC (15 T.W. Alexander Drive, 27709)

Tuesday, October 2, 2012


8:00-8:30: Registration (Lobby)

8:30-8:45: Opening Comments/Summit Introduction (Auditorium)
William Ross, The Collaborative, Co-Chair; Duke University, Nicholas School of the Environment, Visiting Professor

Institute of Medicine Spring Work Shop Overview: The Health Impact Assessment of New Energy Sources: Shale Gas Extraction
Dennis Devlin, IOM Roundtable Member; Exxon Mobil Corporation, Sr. Environmental Health Advisor

8:45-9:30: State Panel Discussion (Auditorium)
Moderator: Hal Zenick, U.S Environmental Protection Agency, National Health and Environmental Effects Research Laboratory, Director
Layton Long, N.C. Division of Public Health, State Environmental Health Director
Emily McGraw, N.C. Department of Transportation, State Maintenance Operations Engineer
Kevin O’Barr, N. C. Department of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Division, Standards Supervisor
Robin Smith, N.C. Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Assistant Secretary for Environment
Lynne Weaver, N.C. Department of Justice, Consumer Protection Division, Assistant Attorney General
Jonathan Williams, N.C. Department of Commerce, Assistant Secretary for Energy and Community Assistance

9:30-10:45: Plenary Presentations (Auditorium)
State of Science Perspective
Robert Jackson, Duke University, Nicholas Chair of Global Environmental Change at Nicholas School of the Environment

Federal Perspectives
Kevin Teichman, U.S Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Research and Development, Senior Science Advisor
Scott Masten, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, National Toxicology Program, Office of Nominations and Selection, Director

Industry Perspective
Dennis Devlin, Exxon Mobil Corporation, Sr. Environmental Health Advisor

Public Interest Perspective
Hope Taylor, Clean Water for North Carolina, Executive Director

10:45-11:00: Work Group Session Overview (Auditorium)
Marci DuPraw, SRA International, Senior Facilitator & Mediator

11:00-11:15: Break

11:15-12:30: Working group sessions (attendees will be assigned to specific groups)

Group 1: Exposure Characterizations (air/water/occupational) (TBD)
Facilitator: Tony Ingle, SRA International, Senior Human Capital Consultant
Chair: TBD
John Snawder, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, Research Toxicologist and Biomonitoring Research Team Leader
Jennifer Orme-Zavaleta, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, National Exposure Research Laboratory, Director

Group 2: Social Impacts on Communities (TBD)
Facilitator: Marci DuPraw, SRA International
Chair: David Brown, The Collaborative
Mark Smith, Bradford County Pennsylvania, County Commissioner
Barbara Taylor, West Virginia Bureau for Public Health, Office of Environmental Health Services, Director
John Villanacci, Texas Department of State Health Services, Environmental & Injury Epidemiology and Toxicology, Director

Group 3: Health Impact Assessments (TBD)
Facilitator: Coleen Northeim, RTI International
Chair: Christine Hendren, Duke University
Judith Argon, Geisinger Health System, Chief Administrative Officer, Research
Roxana Witter, Colorado School of Public Health, Department of Environmental and Occupational Health, Assistant Research Professor
Donna Womack, RTI International, Research Chemical Engineer; Risk Assessment Program, Manager

12:30-1:15: Lunch (Congressional Room/Upper Galleria)

1:15-3:15: Working group sessions (assigned rooms)

3:15-3:30: Break

3:30-5:00: Progress reports by working groups and General Discussion (Auditorium)

5:00-5:30: Reception (Lobby)

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

8:00-8:30: Continental Breakfast and Gathering (Lobby)

8:30-10:30: Working group sessions (assigned rooms)

10:30-10:45: Break

10:45-11:45: Progress reports by working groups and General Discussion (Auditorium)

11:45-1:00: Lunch – breakout groups are encouraged to sit together (Congressional Room/Upper Galleria)

1:00-3:00: Working group sessions (assigned rooms)

3:00-3:15: Break

3:15-4:15: Progress reports by working groups and General Discussion (Auditorium)

4:15-4:30: Closing Remarks (Auditorium)

Summit Supporters

Environmental Protection Agency

SRA International

RTI International

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

Nicholas School of the Environment at Duke University

North Carolina State University

Kenan Institute for Engineering, Technology & Science

UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health

North Carolina Department of Environment and Natural Resources

North Carolina Division of Public Health

MDB, Inc.

Social & Scientific Systems, Inc.

Research Triangle Foundation of North Carolina

North Carolina Biotechnology Center

The Hamner Institutes for Health Sciences

Triangle Global Health Consortium

North Carolina State University Center for Human Health and Environment

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials

Fleishman Hillard International Communications

VisionPoint Marketing